Puny, Miserable Human

I fought with my life
Mortgaged my death
To mysteries
I railed against the unseen lot
Rebelled against an ubiquitous authority
Me, a mere human
Thinking myself some great savior
Better than the idealists who before me lost

I was finally shown how minute I was
And still am
A dispensable thing of rubble
Waste
As despised as encroaching mice
A temporary amusement for the powers that are

All my philosophy
My uppity humanism
And my much vaunted atheism
All thrown into ignominy
As I myself am;
Void of friends
With no one to reckon with my once great self
The authority has won again
And I am left here
Alive yet rotting
A bitter piece of disgraced fuck

Leave a Reply

