Eighteen

Here I am
Eighteen

Here I am
Eighteen
With no legs
To walk on
No hands
To crawl on

Here I am
Eighteen
With wings
Lots of them
Broken wings
Threatening to fly
Yet stagnant
As mud

Here I am
Eighteen
Fancying myself some artist
Confused about life
Love, responsibilities
Wary of embarking on
These journeys
I know nothing of

Here I am
Eighteen
All ready
To be inducted
Into the school of hard knocks
Where moms can’t be yelled at
And dads
Can’t be hated

Here I am
Eighteen

2 thoughts on “Eighteen

Leave a Reply

